.

A Letter to Chad Ciocci

by Carol Hudak

Dear Editor: 

I am writing a letter of advice to Republican State Senate declared candidate (22nd district), Chad Ciocci.

Chad, as someone with many years on you, I would like to give you some unsolicited, unpolitical advice.

I understand your zeal to go to Hartford and help; to set the perceived wrongs right. This is a good thing! Zeal to serve is commendable. But here's the 'however. . .'

However, Chad, you are too young!

State Representatives and Senators deal with far more than raising and lowering taxes. Life is not just economic.

This past session saw the legislature coming face to face with the death sentence; expanded benefits for foster children; medical marijuana, the 'rights' of ex-felons, and adoptee civil rights to have access to an original birth certificate - just to name a few of the many difficult issues dealt with.

As a voter, party aside, I want a candidate who has lived and experienced some of life. A candidate who can bring broader knowledge and experience to their vote on the issues. Years does not guarantee wisdom, however,  it does guarantee a broader range of experience will be brought to each vote.

This is not an anti-Chad Ciocci letter. This is simply my opinion to any young person who wants to run for a major office; be they male or female, Republican or Democrat.

Get some life under your belt!

People's lives are directly impacted by the decisions made in Hartford.

Politics is a fierce power game and too many politicians are in it just for that. Be different, Chad. Be in public service to actually 'serve' people.  In my opinion, to do this most effectively, you need to be older; to have more experience of life.

I wish you only the best.

Sincerely,

Carol Hudak

 

Mabel Buttress May 01, 2012 at 03:12 PM
Chad has always served us well here in District 7. I've always been impressed by his maturity and understanding of issues. I rather have an inexperienced (i.e. untainted) person representing me. I know he's extremely intelligent and if he needs to learn as he goes, so be it. I fully expect him to represent us faithfully and with integrity.
Dana May 01, 2012 at 03:51 PM
I truly hope that this letter does not disuade Chad's efforts. Personally, I am tired by the older, experienced lawmakers who have been making the same old decisions, and putting our state and country. I am 30 years old, I want to be represented by someone close to my age, who has a fresh perspective, and is going to challenge those in Hartford. My husband and I were impressed with some of the ideas you laid out in recent articles - specifically the idea to motivate high school students to complete their courses in 3 years, as opposed to 4. It is just that kind of fresh, new thinking that we need. You have 2 supporters in our house. Best of luck.
I Love Trumbull May 01, 2012 at 07:13 PM
Carol, Very sad letter on your part. I'm trying to find stronger words that won’t be "Flagged". Saying that someone is not qualified based on age is discrimination no matter how you slice it. This discredits your opinion on any other matters and future posts. Was JFK (the youngest at 43), Obama (47) Tawakul Karman (2011 Peace Prize winner - Age 33) too young? I could go on to prove how shallow your views are but, I don’t want to waste my youth. I don’t know Chad and have never voted him. Good luck Chad and don’t let these types of people keep you from achieving your goals!
John Jameson May 01, 2012 at 11:58 PM
I don't know if I'd consider someone who I believe worked for Newt Gingrich as "untainted" as far as politics goes.
Paul G. Littlefield May 02, 2012 at 04:35 PM
I find your response to Carol Hudak's gracious remarks to Chad rather disheartening for some one who uses the pseudenym, "I Love Trumbull". Your attribution of the charge of "age discrimination" to Carol is laughable. And to cite President Obama as someone with wisdom is rather disengenuous. He is an avowed anti-American Socialist with Muslim ideals. If you do "Love Trumbull" do some homework. I suggest that you put forth the effort to get to know the "players" in Trumbull. Find out about Chad and his hard working family. He is worth getting to know.
Joan May 02, 2012 at 07:21 PM
"An avowed anti-American socialist with Muslim ideals." This has to be a joke.
Carol Hudak May 02, 2012 at 09:50 PM
Discrimination? Interesting. How about, 'my opinion,' stated under my own name, for starters. Say I am looking for a new physician. If I prefer a physician with 25 years of clinical experience to a physician with 2 years of experience, am I discriminating against the younger doctor? Or am I making a choice based on what I feel is best for me? I am not advocating a change of law regarding candidates, nor am I saying that Chad is not a very intelligent and dedicated young man. On the contrary! What I am saying, after having paid attention to the laws presented during this legislative session, is that the legislature deals with far more than simply economic matters. And like a doctor with 25 years of experience, I would prefer a legislator to be a bit older. This is hardly discrimination. It is simply my point of view. I wish Chad all the best. Carol Hudak
Kristy Waizenegger May 02, 2012 at 11:05 PM
Mark Zuckerberg invented Facebook while in college. Had he handed it off to older, more experienced people to further develop I suspect it would look alot different than it does today, had it survived at all. That's because Mark had passion around his idea and he understood who his audience was. His youth was the reason that FB was and is so successful. Bill Gates was building computers in his garage when he was a kid. He believed that every household would have a personal computer. Older, more experienced individuals in the technology industry told him that his vision was ridiculous. The rest is history. Chad Ciocci understands the current condition of our state. Our state's financial trouble is one of the most pressing issues we are dealing with right now. I'm thrilled to support Chad because he has common sense ideas and he understands that overtaxing and overregulating have driven people and businesses out of our state. The state of CT takes in a ton of revenue through an inordinate number of taxes and fees we all pay everyday and CT is still in the red. The older, more experienced seem to favor taxes, new regulations and mandates as solutios to everything but none of our state's problems are being resolved. It's time for a new approach, don't you think?
david pia May 03, 2012 at 02:37 AM
Carol, it’s interesting that you used the doctor analogy. I knew a young dentist in Stamford, he was actually the son of my family dentist. He, half kiddingly suggested I leave his father, and become his patient. I half kiddingly, said – “you’re too young”. He had an interesting reply, he said; “I just graduated college and dental school, I have learned, and use, the latest technology. So, who do you want drilling in your mouth? The “young” dentist with the latest technology and training with the most current, pain free techniques, or the old guy with bad eyes, antiquated equipment, and old fashioned, painful methods?” I understand your point, and believe you were genuine in your advice. However, I can assure you that Chad Ciocci is an intelligent, thoughtful, and hard working young man. He not only believes in smaller government and lower taxes, he is willing to research issues, listen to his constituents, and then make an informed, well thought out decision. I proudly support Chad’s campaign for CT State Senate. David Pia
Tom Kelly May 03, 2012 at 04:07 AM
Paul, you are so far to the extreme that you are really posting polarizing comments. President Obama is not a self-avowed anti-American socialist. That is nothing but extreme rightist propaganda and only a fool would believe that about our President. Who, by the way, just had the guts to go to Afghanistan to greet our brave troops and make more plans to wipe out radical Muslims who threaten our country. I get that you don't like President Obama or his policies, but he's been very tough in his foreign policy, and there is no need for that kind of ridiculous rhetoric. It's simply not so. As for Chad Ciocci, I don't agree with many of his positions, as he is really quite conservative, but I respect him because he stands by what he believes. I don't agree with incentivizing high schoolers to graduate early, because I think most kids are not mature enough to move ahead a year early, and need time to gain social maturity as well as intellectual maturity. Still, I give him credit for thinking creatively. He also does not make his politics personal, which is not always the case in the Trumbull Republican Party. I think running for State Senate will be a good experience for him and I wish him well (I am still supporting Anthony Musto, but I hope it is a good campaign).
Martha May 04, 2012 at 12:57 AM
Define hardworking...living at home selling while real estate or Avon products...I know a lot of people his age who I would describe as much harder working. I also don't like the pompous, smug look on his face. I value experience, real world experience when I want representation, regardless if they are Dem or Rep. Give me a break!!!
Kristy Waizenegger May 04, 2012 at 01:20 AM
Wow Martha you just insulted every hardworking person who sells real estate and Avon products - yikes. Further, had you checked your facts you would have learned that Mr. Ciocci worked in Government Affairs at the Avon Corporation. Personal attacks generally say a lot about the person doing the attacking. So unnecessary.
Martha May 04, 2012 at 08:43 PM
No, Mrs. Waizenegger it is the machine of politics that that I am attacking and the prospect of someone making their in the world via politics. That's the real insult to the regular hard working person. I will check my facts further and call attention to (as you say attack) anything I feel is exagerrated for personal again.
Paul G. Littlefield May 05, 2012 at 01:45 AM
Hey Tom, I am only going by Obama's own words, what would you have me do just ignore his many speeches? like his pastor of many years, Rev Wright, says, Words, they are only words, just words Tom, I live in the real world and take people literally, unless they tell me they are speaking allegories. Obama"s policies are killing off this country. The is country is broke, private sector jobs are disappearing, unemployment figures are understated, he has racked up more debt in three years than in the country's history, the recession has lasted longer than any other, the government is printing money faster than the GDP is growing, his rhetoric is spreading racial discord, when he had promised to bring the country together, Obama is suing Nev for legislation that is aligned with the constitution, Obama insulted the Supremes in a joint session of congress and is now making threats to them to keep his Obamacare which is clearly unconstitutional, Obama sows seeds of discord in the military, insults our country's allies while bowing and scraping to our enemies, his justice dept. is corrupt, having secretly conspired to run a clandestine operation, Fast and Furious. Obama called the massacre at Ft. Hood by the psychiatrist, a Muslim, a workplace incident, with no medals and no benefits to the victims and their families, Obama has played more golf than any other president, has lavish vacations at taxpayer expense and I could go on but I think you get my drift.
Tom Kelly May 05, 2012 at 02:35 AM
I'm surprised you didn't question his citizenship. That is usually a staple of the Tea Party propaganda. The only thing you Tea Partiers repeatedly fail to acknowledge is that President Obama inherited the biggest MESS since President Lincoln. The economy was losing many hundreds of thousands of jobs per month after 8 long years of President Bush and the Republicans. Two unfunded wars, a soaring national debt, an unpaid for Medicare Part D and the lowest approval rating since the inception of Presidential polling. How quickly the Tea Partiers forget just how bad Bush messed things up. And now you want the country to hand things right back over to the same people who produced this mess--NO THANK YOU. You can call Obama a Muslim and a socialist and all the other names you folks can spew. You can keep questioning his citizenship. But he got us out of Afghanistan, he got Bin Laden, no more Gaddafi, the economy is recovering, we continue to add new jobs every month even if the pace is not as quick as we would like, and we ARE better off now than we were when Bush retired to Texas.
Tom Kelly May 05, 2012 at 02:37 AM
The above should read he got us out of Iraq...hopefully Afghanistan soon.
Paul G. Littlefield May 05, 2012 at 01:00 PM
Tom, I will politely ask you to refer to me personally, not by any party or group affiliation. You group me with "Tea Party propaganda" then you try to diffuse the thrust of my argument by changing the subject to attacks on President Bush. When I hadn't brought up either. Don't use me to get to them. Start your own arguments. You want to deny what the truth is, that is your business. If you want to defend what Obama has and is doing, fine. Give some facts. Did he or didn't he conspire with his AG to operate a clandestine action to get guns sold and delivered to Mexico with the cooperation of the ATF agents, which by the way violated their oaths. The economy is not recovering because of efforts to penalize captalism with overtaxation and regulation. Tom, it was I, Paul, who stated that Obama is a socialist with Muslim affiliations. Where do you come off distracting people with this "all the other names you folks can muster." Address your defensive remarks to me directly. Don't hide behind a lot of meaningless blather about other groups. For every thing that I have stated about Obama, I can back up with legimate sources. I can't make up all this stuff. Anyone can access the same information, but it does take some effort as you wont find it in the main stream press.
John Jameson May 05, 2012 at 04:09 PM
Actually, I believe Fast & Furious began under the Bush administration, did it not? And yes, Mr. Littlefield, you "can make all this stuff up." Meaningless blather, in my opinion, is calling the President a Muslim, a socialist, a marxist, etc., etc. The economic indicators show that in fact the economy is recovering, though as Mr. Kelly said, not as quickly as most had hoped. Perhaps that's because those wealthy job creators have yet to use their Bush-era tax cuts to create jobs. Or perhaps because the GOP members of Congress, who apparently took a different oath this term that swore them to getting one man unemployed, have completely abandoned their campaign promises of jobs, jobs, jobs.
Paul G. Littlefield May 05, 2012 at 05:16 PM
Hi John, thanks for your comments. However, you need to check your emotions and deliver some facts to back up your saying that what I have posted is in error. I'm not engaging in a "he said she said" type of dialogue that only amounts to a venting of emotions. As I said, John, the facts are available, but you do need to spend the effort to locate them and then sort out the wheat from the chaff. And, please, don't make the mistake of coming back to anyone with an "And yes, you can make all this stuff up" as that is typical of school yard kid stuff. If I have made something up, then show me the facts.
louis June 04, 2012 at 03:35 PM
Chad, will you commit as the next State Senator to root out all trade unionism at City Hall? Can we get you on the record?

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something