.

Candidate Bevilacqua: Trumbull Doesn't Need a Garage

Bevilacqua is running for the state representative seat for Trumbull.

What a waste!  When I began to read the latest scheme coming forth from our local political leadership, I wasn't surprised. The disorganized, unfocused parlor game that has become public policy has made not only our area the laughing stock of Connecticut, it has reinforced with the public the idea that politicians have no interest other than to make their cronies wealthy.  The planned train station on Barnum Avenue in Bridgeport's abandoned wasteland of the East Side, a five minutes drive from Downtown's Intermodal Transit Center is the most shocking proposal I have heard in years.  Not only will it undermine a struggling Main Street, giving that train depot greater competition (by the way Bridgeport station was only reconstructed in the 1970's) but it will expend political capital and resources.

Is the local Congressman doing anything, or is his idea of governance in Fairfield county to throw darts at a board to watch what will stick? You would have to understand the mess within our political structure to get a feel for how government can waste millions of dollars on crazy projects which bear little fruit in a recession.  You must realize that the people of Bridgeport are disengaged from politics and because only 19% of voters turned-out last November, Finch and his crew claim a mandate which will impact the region. Finch has no mandate.

His goal of re-creating county government might be what he is going for, because us voters in the suburbs literally have no power over the trash heap that he manages, but we are not going to fall for that trap.

Myself having been involved in state politics since 1992, I remember outsider Finch and others from the local group of discredited politicos advocating the 'reformation' of the East Side.  Thousands of square feet of abandoned and decaying factory space once was the gear which turned the Arsenal of Democracy.  These buildings are unsafe and can only be torn down. Likewise, extensive housing projects were cleared twenty years ago and remain vacant fields.  You do not construct a new train station in these midsts until you have concrete plans for development.  Plans which the mediocre planning staff must first identify as solid opportunities from real capitalists.  Because they can never seem to tell the difference between real and pie in the sky, get-rich-quick schemes, the place remains a wasteland.  The former anchor of the neighborhood was Housatonic Community College, which they moved downtown to replace another vacant property.

Besides this never ending justification for re-election, the local power base does nothing but this shell game.  Its like having an employee that keeps assembling the same car, just to tear it down and rebuild it.  Bridgeport and Trumbull cannot afford the money at this point!  We are not a lego set for incompetent public officials to experiment with.

Trumbull, which has been 'offered' a 500 space parking garage on Park Avenue north of Sacred Heart University, was once a beautiful place of forests and to raise a family it was once a simple and liveable small town.  They have done their best to ruin it.  Taxes continue to rise and you wonder how easily Finch, a former Trumbull resident and now Bridgeport stooge must have fit in, once he relocated near Mr Beardsley's park.  We don't need a garage, Ed Lavernoich.  We don't need a dubious profit scheme which will never result in revenue generation for us.  What we need is leadership, we need you to send the women's clinic back to Fairfield Avenue and we demand our summer concert!  We will gain nothing from it and we will waste increasingly limited available land for a favor to friends (who steal our land) instead of revenue generating sources.  We will also bear the burden of police patrols.

So if this new train depot, tar pit in the middle of nowhere will not bring commercial activity in, and trust me Trumbull you folks are paying it, one way or the other, and it will negatively impact an already complex and busy northeast rail artery, causing increased delays for Amtrak and regional service along the important New York to Boston line.  It will divide the train passengers along two groups those who will use the East Side and those who get to utilize downtown as their transit hubs, why this insanity?

One possible reason is that this new group of inexperienced insiders, drunk on personal connections is simply deciding, on a whim, to use their new-found power.  They are all friends people.  Bridgeport was a suburb of Trumbull, now we are their pet. Its a small world. In short they don't know what the hell they're doing, but heck they dress up and get to act important and they think that is what government service is about.  That could be part of it, but I think the civil service is really directing some of this and I'll tell you why.  

 

As part of the redevelopment of the intermodal transit system, and the closure of the hulking mass that is now the old bus terminal, a compromise ensured that there was adequate parking nearby.  This was supplemented with the parking garage and fields near the Arena and Ballpark.  Parking was initially free, and it was fantastic being merely a block or two from the train station.  Now this convenient location, the entertainment complex, the new burgeoning restaurants and parking was starting to attract wealthy suburban professionals to the area, and they began to spur commerce while they used public transportation.  Then the current administration, flush with its new influence, decided to hike up the rates at the parking center and instead place a Juvenile detention facility alongside the unfinished new bus station, this prison for youthful offenders replaced the convenient parking lot. Suddenly the new downtown arts area more resembled Sing Sing than SoNo. So you can see the priorities of Finch.  The answer is incompetence, mismanagement and reactionary urban design.  The new train station, which was once the location of jersey barriers to prevent drive by shootings has ample parking space...because there is nothing there.  What you have to discern voters is, is this the vision of our future, or are we going to demand more from the people who draw a paycheck from the public treasury and whose power of office is in our name.  Not on my watch, folks.

louis October 05, 2012 at 04:04 PM
That must be the reason why the administration opposed efforts of EastSiders and the Catholic priest from the community to secure funding for the Congress Street Bridge, which was closed and in dis-repair for nearly 20 years; instead of the prosperity created through commerce, they had the design of placing a jail for children in the location. When Mayorial aide Brian Williams secured state funding, he was unceremonially sacked. And what has become of Finch's intermodal transport centre? As of december, it was still unfinished, with benches for the bus station still in unopened boxes alongside the bus stop.
TrumbullProgressive October 06, 2012 at 01:56 AM
Wow. Another rambling, nonsensical rant from candidate Bevilacqua. I'm shocked he didn't bring up anything about the Founding Fathers in this one. I'm left to wonder, if elected, just how effectively he will be able to work with the Bridgeport Mayor after calling him an incompetent stooge. Oh well, we won't need to worry about that, now will we.
Archie Bunker October 06, 2012 at 02:23 AM
Louis is too busy putting up his campaign signs on public property, and in front of vacant lots in an attempt to convince the town that somebody is supporting him. Anybody ever see one in the front yard of an occupied residence?
TrumbullProgressive October 06, 2012 at 02:55 AM
Good point Archie. Never mind seeing his signs in occupied yards, has anyone actually seen Mr. Bevilacqua in person, out campaigning and explaining to actual voters what it is he wants to do for his district? Not going to debate. not going to the BRBC forum. Are we only going to get to see Mr. Bevilacqua in those cute self-portraits that accompanying his third-person interviews with himself?
MAC October 06, 2012 at 03:45 PM
Thanks, Louis for an informative article about Finch's machinations and costly, misguided plans/actions in Bridgeport. I would be surprised if any attempt by Finch to bring back county government is anything but a non-starter. However, Finch is obviously a promoter in Hartford of taking as much money as possible for 'his city' from Trumbull and other suburban Taxpayers. He did that even as a state senator supposedly "representing" Trumbull and Monroe! I suppose one could call Finch "competent" if you are on board with Obama's and Soros' and so many anti-American sovereignty and anti-Liberty promoters of Agenda 21 and the speciously named "Livable Communities" initiatives--which intend to FORCE people off THEIR land, and back into cities. http://www.nationalreview.com/articles/312807/burn-down-suburbs-stanley-kurtz “Livable Communities Act” (S.1619) You are correct that that we in Trumbull PAY for these Bridgeport projects, through the higher TAXES from Malloy and the DEM dominated borrow and spend more legislature! (I am not supporting you in your futile race for a seat in the assembly.) We need strong conservative Republicans in the legislature, to counteract a disastrous governor who has not a clue why CT's unemployment rate is much higher than the terrible national rate, and Taxpayers and job creators are fleeing the state!!
MAC October 06, 2012 at 07:06 PM
Obama "intends to abolish" America’s suburbs. "Obama is a longtime supporter of 'regionalism,' the idea that the suburbs should be folded into the cities, merging schools, housing, transportation, and above all taxation. To this end, the president has already put programs in place designed to push the country toward a sweeping social transformation in a possible second term. The goal: ^^income equalization via a massive redistribution of suburban tax money to the cities."^^ "Obama’s plans to undercut the political and economic independence of America’s suburbs reach back decades. The community organizers who trained him in the mid-1980s blamed the plight of cities on taxpayer 'flight' to suburbia."... ..."Knowing that...[the abolishment of the suburbs] could never happen through outright annexation by nearby cities, they’ve developed ways to coax suburbs to slowly forfeit their independence. "One approach is to force suburban residents into densely packed cities by blocking development on the outskirts of metropolitan areas, and by discouraging driving with a blizzard of taxes, fees, and regulations. Step two is to move the poor out of cities by imposing low-income-housing quotas on development in middle-class suburbs. Step three is to export the controversial 'regional tax-base sharing' scheme currently in place in the Minneapolis–St. Paul area to the rest of the country."... www.nationalreview.com/articles/312807/burn-down-suburbs-stanley-kurtz
louis October 06, 2012 at 08:58 PM
Regarding yard signs, certainly it is public business, whom we elect. Do you want competence or glam? The reasons for yard signs are to increase name recognition and visibility, they are not indicators of whom is going to win, although some people sure do like to go with the team that wins, that is for sure! They are not designed to intimidate the people into voting for whichever candidate controls the most of their faction of irrelevant party insiders. I am neither the endorsed candidate of the republicans or the democrats, if you want something different, if you want competence and experience, if you want reasoned independent leadership, you will cast your vote for me! There is a reason why the vote is secret and personal, that you never have to tell anyone whom you voted for. It is so that competence wins out over factionalism. Either way, it is up to the people to decide on the 6th of November. I campaign daily, but political electioneering is not the wise replacement of experienced deliberation. If you would like to meet, send me an email at l.bevilacqua@hotmail.com; I will arrange to be where you are.
louis October 07, 2012 at 12:57 AM
Btw folks, there is no way forward except third parties. Democracy needs the organic process which allows for change to occur naturally. My candidacy is the way of the future if our system is to survive the next fifty years, here in Connecticut
TrumbullProgressive October 07, 2012 at 03:01 AM
Wow MAC, you'd better flee the country now - life as we know it is about to end as Barack Obama's plot to destroy America in his second term is about to come to fruition. Everything is going exactly as planned. So clever that secret Muslim black man from Kenya. The entire first term went exactly according to plan. Obama left everyone's guns alone. He didn't confiscate all the money from the wealthy class and redistribute it to the lazy-ass 47% of the country that pays no taxes. He even killed bin Laden just to seal the deal. After that, millions of American suckers think he really cares about keeping America safe. He's set the perfect stage for his radical 2nd-term transformation into a crazy socialist lunatic that's gonna take everyone's guns away, redistribute all the wealth, give everyone a free eduction, guarantee every American health care and make everyone drive a Chevy Volt and put a solar panel on their roof. Be afraid! Be very, very afraid. MAC, Stanley Kurtz is a crazy right-wing lunatic and anyone who listens to anything he says and believes it needs to wake up and smell the roses. You are being taken for a huge ride by an idiot who doesn't care about anything but the sound of his own demented voice.
TrumbullProgressive October 07, 2012 at 03:14 AM
Louis, can you tell us a little about your competence and experience? Not so long ago, you were bragging about your experience working with the Bridgeport Democratic Party and bragged about working as a campaign aid to Bill Finch. Now you criticize Mayor Finch calling him an incompetent stooge. When you briefly ran for Trumbull Town Council, you stated that "you and your union thugs couldn't wait to get into Town Hall." Once upon a time, you praised Jim Himes as a wise and good Democratic leader and wanted to have your picture taken with him, now you endorse his opponent Steve Obsitnik. You just changed you affiliation from Democratic to Republican, but now you say the only way forward is a third party. What a long strange trip it has been Mr. Bevilacqua.
louis October 07, 2012 at 04:57 AM
Trumbull liberal: I worked for leadership in the House chamber that I will serve in when elected. I have known Bill since I first started in politics in 1992. He was the campaign manager for a man named Dominic Paniccia, who tried unsuccessfully to run for State Senate representing Trumbull. Bill was a true outsider without any knowledge or understanding for how real democratic politics worked. Back then the party had credibility. It was the oldest political organization in the world, having been founded by Jefferson. Finch, basically was a joke. He was the kid that wanted to be cool, but nobody really liked him. So I pledged to help him back then because, well, the democratic party should be open and tolerant. Since then he has found success, but they have taken the easy way out and the party suffers as a result. That is why I disagree with him on many items. I worked a little with the Bpt Democratic party, but honestly, I was merely liaison with them. I mainly worked with state democrats and for state campaigns. I never did run for Council. They had an opening, they asked me to run, I agreed, then they found somebody else, who lost. Not my issue. Politics is not linear and if people shut up and listened more, I could help. I helped Himes get elected in '08 but was only lightly involved apart from my endorsement and some light media but getting a democrat elected in the 4th was a personal project of mine for very complex reasons. I spoke frequently with the DCCC towards that
louis October 07, 2012 at 05:01 AM
I was happy to see the district targetted. I took my picture with him to help him. I was also proud of my accomplishments in the 4th which started back in 96 on the Finch campaign. It was the first competitive race in the district since the special in 87. We garnered 40% in two months. The union thing was a joke. The only way forward is what I'm doing because seriously both groups are drunk with consolidation and the political structure is literally dying. Both sides are putting up incompetent hacks who can neither defend their own interests within the system in an appropriate manner nor the interests of the people. Decisions are being made to benefit some mysterious facade, perhaps abroad, I'm not sure but something has changed. Steve Obsitnik would provide a good balance to the politics. Himes started off well but has faltered. I simply could not endorse the local democrats behaviour any longer. They have low level people in positions of leadership, they mean well, but there is a reason why they haven't been successful. I switched to give the GOP a chance. The choice is simple. You could vote for a republican who is a complete hack, no experience local boys club or you could vote for me. So there really is no excuse. Would you like me to send a memo on what is going to happen to progressives after the next Bush is elected president or Christie, because you people really do need help. But as an old dem....I'll do the best I can.
louis October 07, 2012 at 05:03 AM
But I have noticed that you don't really address anything I wrote...oh and do read them in order by time posting or else they really will not make any sense. I know you are probably a simple fella, but as an old democrat I was taught to give all the people a chance even if they sounded stupid to me or inobjective
TrumbullProgressive October 07, 2012 at 06:10 AM
Louis, you certainly do have a way about you. if someone questions you of disagrees with you, you call them simple. Nice. Just what we need in Hartford - another Republican (or Independent or whatever you are at the moment) that thinks he's got it all figured out. BTW, I thought our representatives were supposed to represent US, not tell the voters to "shut up" and listen more. Okay I'll play your game. I'm listening. Tell me what you stand for - really. Give us some details. Not those platitudes about party structure and taking the easy way out - whatever all that is supposed to mean. Tell us why you are running, what you want to achieve, where you see problems and what your focus will be? Get specific. I'm all ears.
TrumbullProgressive October 09, 2012 at 04:23 AM
Crickets.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something