.

Trumbull RTC: 'Modest and Predictable Taxes and Proven Efficiencies'

Chairman Jack Testani said Herbst will continue the efforts of the last two years.

Trumbull Republicans, led by First Selectman Tim Herbst, will continue the efforts made in the last two years in office by working to provide the excellent Town services we all enjoy, modest and predictable taxes and proven efficiencies in town government. 

The Herbst Administration has produced budgets that have resulted in one of the lowest increases in Fairfield County for two consecutive years. As promised, this administration identified $1 million dollars in operational savings in its first 100 days.

The overall increase in spending was held to less than 1%, with no layoffs, no school closures and no adverse impact on class size. A power plant was stopped from being placed in the middle of a residential neighborhood. The Town Charter has been revised that vests more power in the public at large.  Phase 2 and 3 of the Trumbull Center renovation is nearing completion. The Long Hill Green is on the cusp of a comprehensive revitalization and a 45 million dollar renovation of the Trumbull Mall has been completed. All of this is proof that First Selectman Tim Herbst and the Republican administration are providing leadership that’s working.

All the progress made has proven that Trumbull Republicans didn’t just say it, we did it. Trumbull voters deserved better than the astronomical tax increases of over six percent every year and Republicans delivered. Please join me on Nov. 8 in voting to reelect First Selectman Herbst and the Republican team and help keep fiscal responsibility in Trumbull government.

Jack Testani

Chairman

Trumbull Republican Town Committee

Jim Flynn November 03, 2011 at 07:06 PM
Mr Kelly It's hard to answer your condescending question without being condescending back at you. Why don't you re-ask your question in an objective manner without the snide second sentence?
I Love Trumbull November 03, 2011 at 07:17 PM
Jim Flynn, How pathetic. You have reached a new low for the Patch. I didn't think it was possible. But you were able to pull it off. Congrats! You should be very proud of yourself and wear it as a badge of honor. I have no idea about someone's military service but, to question and belittle their military career is disgraceful. You have just made it very easy to skip over any post and opinion you have. You should really get control of your anger issues and take a break from posting. Unless, of course, it is to apologize to Mr. Smith. So sad
Jim Flynn November 03, 2011 at 07:26 PM
Sorry I Love Trumbull, that will never happen. Mr. Smith has managed to belittle and offend every poster who disagrees with point of view. His comments about Mary Beth are beyond appalling. Just because he agrees with your candidate doesn't give him a free pass. If you want to play in the sandbox you better be ready to get dirty.
Archie Bunker November 03, 2011 at 08:21 PM
Sandbox? Looking at MBT's mailers, it looks like she's in the gutter already.
TrumbullProgressive November 03, 2011 at 09:12 PM
Archie, The mailers may not be pretty, but neither were the last two years and it is the responsibility of the opposition to point out the facts. Especially egregious is the FS's handling of the Magnet School. So much potential flushed down the toilet due to arrogance and inexperience and we the town taxpayers and town students are left to pay the price. It is time for a change.
J Strouse November 04, 2011 at 01:44 AM
Archie, I may not always agree with you, but what is with the continued negative mailings by Thornton and the Democrats?
J Strouse November 04, 2011 at 01:48 AM
Mr. Kelly, That's a very fair question. Another fair question is whether the people of Trumbull are willing and able, in this economic envrionment, to pay much more in taxes. Money doesn't grow on trees, at least not in my yard. And I can't imagine having to pay substantially more than I pay already. I heard Thornton (in the second or third debate) say "do more with less" at least three times...but the plan is really to "do more with MORE..." which means less for our hardworking Trumullites. VOTERS: No matter what you read on this site, think about the bottom line. Think about protecting your hard earned dollars. Think about being able to stay in your home. For some, the size of their home is far more important than being able to stay in it. For the rest of us, the bottom line matters. Vote Herbst. Thanks. And God Bless.
Patty Sheehan November 04, 2011 at 02:32 AM
Every time I read one of Mr.Testani's letters, I get the feeling that he & I don't live in the same town.
tchatter November 04, 2011 at 02:43 AM
Alright Strouse, time to put your money where your mouth is........what are you basing the "substantially more than I pay already" comment on......and FACTS PLEASE! Anything other than that proves you are just stating your opinion as fact.....
HL November 04, 2011 at 01:29 PM
Mr. Testani, I think there are items that you could have pointed to in defense of the job Mr. Herbst has done. While some will argue semantics, he has made it a priority to keep spending and taxes in check. Mr. Baldwin was voted out largely because he created too large a tax hike in his last year. Even though my priority is education, I can certainly respect fiscal sanity. Tim has also in my opinion done a solid job dealing with two abnormal storms this year (Irene and Alfred). While his leaf pickup "enhancements" are likely to be foiled by Alfred and could have started a year sooner, the spirit was in the right place. But you should have stuck with these realities. Are you seriously going to give him credit for "not closing schools"? Wow, thanks so much, Tim! Also, class size WAS affected in a negative way, professionals did lose jobs (unless you don't think paraprofessionals are irrelevant), and the promised all-day Kindergarten did not happen. You should have stuck with these truths and tried to take the stance that these are tough times that call for tough measures. I would have still disagreed with some of the approach (as I feel investing in education will increase property values and increase tax revenue) but now I am just an independent who thinks you sound like a snake oil salesman.
tchatter November 04, 2011 at 01:38 PM
Tim keeps failing his own test of leadership......
JR November 04, 2011 at 01:49 PM
HL, I agree with you but want to correct one point. The last budget of Baldwin's administration had a .88% increase. I believe the year before that was less than 2% If the Republican had put up a viable candidate in 2007, they would have defeated Baldwin then (IMO). Mr. Herbst was too busy with bar exams and starting a career at that time.
tchatter November 04, 2011 at 01:55 PM
That's funny, every time I read something Jack writes I feel like I need a shower......
Suzanne Testani November 04, 2011 at 03:29 PM
Once again, thank you Mitch. Great point.
J Strouse November 04, 2011 at 03:53 PM
JR/HL - bottom line is we'll all pay a lot more if MBT wins. I truly believe that. Unfortunately, I just can't afford it... and I can't fathom the idea of having to pay a lot more during this economic crisis. No matter what you think about TH, he is fiscally conservative and will continue to contain costs... even if that means having to make hard decisions. It stinks, I know. I hope things change for the better in this country...but until they do, we all really have to sacrifice.
tchatter November 04, 2011 at 04:20 PM
The bottom line is that you have not a single fact to back up your claims and keep presenting your opinions as facts. Despite your smarmy delivery you are no less a hack than Mark "the quitter" Smith..........pathetic.
Joan November 04, 2011 at 05:29 PM
I have to keep reminding myself what a "fiscal conservative" Mr. Herbst is every time I think about the $14million dollars (or more) that he gave away in his botched magnet school negotiation. Are our taxes still going up? You betcha! Are our roads and schools getting better or worse with that increase in taxes? I think we all know the answer to that.
Concerned Parent November 04, 2011 at 05:35 PM
J, I do have faith that Tim knows the value of keeping costs down (although I am not convinced he wont continue to manipulate numbers through bonding and other approaches to hide increases), and if nothing else he will try to create the illusion of lower costs. The problem is, I can't sleep at night knowing my children are having their education system erode and knowing that it means long term damage. Tim platformed on strong education, but hasn't even been able to keep the status quo. That concerns me deeply, and now I don't think education is really a concern of his.
I Love Trumbull November 04, 2011 at 05:39 PM
How did Mrs. Thornton cast her vote for the Magnet school?
JR November 04, 2011 at 05:52 PM
ILT, When was this vote?
I Love Trumbull November 04, 2011 at 06:30 PM
JR or anyone else, Do you know how Mrs. Thornton voted for the proposal to change the town pension system? I will give everyone a hint. She voted the same way in both cases.
JR November 04, 2011 at 06:31 PM
J Strouse, Your opinion piece on another page kind of excludes you from serious consideration. The words "bottom line" are usually followed with supported facts. You have only stated your opinion - which is fine.
Jonny Trumbull November 04, 2011 at 07:25 PM
The short answer is that the economy was still wobbly, real estate values were falling, everyone was frightened, and the Republicans focused on Ray Baldwin's comments on potential double digit tax increases. Never mind that actual tax increases in the Baldwin administration were lower than the worst case his comments acknowledged. The Republicans also used this focus to frighten seniors, a tactic they're repeating this time around. They created a false dichotomy between Trumbullites who don't want to pay higher taxes and those who don't care if money is wasted - the latter an entirely fictional construct, of course, since no one who advocates investment in foundational assets like the education system actually wants anything other than maximum value for our tax dollars. Finally, they weren't candid about the costs to the integrity of the education system that their brand of "fiscal restraint" would exact. On all of these things, of course, the difference now is that we know the costs. We also know that the incumbent First Selectman is temperamentally unsuited to executive responsibilities and an incompetent negotiator, as the Magnet School debacle amply demonstrates. So the answer is that we made a mistake. Fool me once, etc.
J Strouse November 04, 2011 at 08:40 PM
Tchatter, please don't respond directly to me. You never have a pleasant thing to say to anyone. How old are you and do your parents allow you on this site?
J Strouse November 04, 2011 at 08:41 PM
JR: "Excludes me from serious consideration?" Why is that? Please elaborate.
tchatter November 04, 2011 at 11:46 PM
Why? Because you never back up a single thing you say with anything other than "I just know it in my heart of hearts that gosh darn it, we're all going to get taxed out of Trumbull if MBT gets elected"-like statements. That's why........
J Strouse November 05, 2011 at 02:08 AM
JR - Are you referring to my opinion piece re Occupy Trumbull Patch?
J Strouse November 05, 2011 at 02:23 AM
JR: Ask MBT yourself whether she thinks Trumbullites should be paying more. I know for a fact (this is a small town) that she thinks properties should be reassessed quickly...b/c there is more money that the Town of Trumbull should be taking in every year. That's not my gut feeling. That's a fact. If you don't believe me, just ask her. Please.
J Strouse November 05, 2011 at 02:32 AM
Concerned Parent, I hear you. I do. And I struggle with seeing some of the sacrifices our education system has to make in the midst of this global economic crisis. But I also struggle with the thought of over burdening people who've been part of the fabric of this town for a long time...taxing them to the point where they feel they just can't afford living here anymore. I'm not sure how to balance all of this in a way that is fair and equitable. But I do believe there has to be some give and take from all corners of this great town. Anyway, thanks for a dialogue that is fair and balanced. Have a good night.
ProudRepublican November 05, 2011 at 11:53 PM
I'm going to do anything I can to make sure Mary Beth doesn't get in...she's a nutty lib and she's trying to take my hard-earned dollar. I'm tired of educators thinking they run this town.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »