Trumbull Election Day 2012: Everything You Need to Know

From polling places to results and reactions for all local and state races, we've got you covered on Election Day.

Get the scoop first by:

Good morning, and welcome to Election Day 2012!

Today, Trumbull residents go to the polls to choose a president, a U.S. Senator, a U.S. Representative from the 4th Congressional District, state representatives for the 122nd, 123rd and 134th districts, and a state Senator in the 22nd District.

See below for information on where to cast your ballot and the list of candidates. We've also included how Trumbull voted in 2008, the year of the last presidential election, and 2010, the last mid-term election.

Read it over, then visit your local polling station between 6 a.m. and 8 p.m. to make your voice heard! And be sure to check back with Patch for updates throughout the day, including the announcement of the winners as soon as votes are tallied tonight.

State and National Races

U.S. Senate

Chris Murphy (D) and Linda McMahon (R) are vying for the seat vacated by Joe Lieberman. (Click on "U.S. Senate" for updates, results and reactions.)

State House of Representatives

122nd: Republican Larry Miller is running uncontested. Part of his district now includes Trumbull after redistricting.

123rd: Vying for the seat to be vacated by T.R. Rowe, R-Trumbull, (running for Trumbull, Easton and Monroe Probate Judge) are David Rutigliano, a republican on the Trumbull Board of Finance; Democrat Tom Christiano, who has held office in Trumbull and in the state Legislature; and Trumbull resident Louis Bevilacqua, a former Town Council candidate and recently registered republican.

134th: Tony Hwang, R-Fairfield, is defending his seat against Heather Dean, a businessowner and democrat in Fairfield. The district includes part of Trumbull.

22nd state Senate District: State Sen. Anthony Musto, D-Trumbull, is defending his seat against Trumbull Town Councilman Chadwick Ciocci, republican.

Probate Judge (Trumbull, Easton, Monroe): Outgoing state Rep. and Attorney T.R. Rowe is battling Amy Todisco, a Trumbull attorney.

Still Not Sure Who You're Voting For?

Check out our Election Guide to see coverage of candidate debates, updates from the campaign trail, opeds, letters and more.

Live Blog and Election Results

Join your neighbors in a discussion about the election, candidates and the results. (click on the subhead above to access the article)

Trumbull Polling Places

Polls open at 6 a.m. and will remain open until 8 p.m.

Use the CT Secretary of State’s Voter Registration Look-up database to locate your polling location address and Party registration information. Alternatively, voters can find their residence on the Voting District Map and use the district number to identify their voting location on the Polling Place List below:

Voting Districts – Polling Places

  • District 1 - Hillcrest Middle School - 530 Daniels Farm Road
  • District 2 - St. Joseph High School - 2320 Huntington Turnpike
  • District 3 - Madison Middle School - 4630 Madison Ave.
  • District 4 - Middlebrook Elementary School - 220 Middlebrook Ave.

Contact the Trumbull Elections Administration Office at 203-452-5058 or 203-452-5059 if you have any additional questions regarding your Voting District.

How Trumbull Voted in 2008 (80.12% Turnout)

(D=Democrat; R=Republican; G=Green; I=Independent; WF=Working Families; CL=Connecticut for Lieberman; WI=Write In; L=Libertarian)


  • Obama-Biden (D) — 9,757 votes
  • McCain-Palin (R) — 9,927 votes
  • Nader and Gonzalez — 157 votes
  • Baldwin-Castle (WI)— 1 vote
  • McKinney and Clemente (WI) — 0 vote


  • Jim Himes (D) — 8,115 votes
  • Christopher Shays (R) — 10,325 votes
  • Richard Z. Duffee (G) — 84 votes
  • Jim Himes (WF) — 482 votes
  • Michael Anthony Carrano (L) — 151 votes


  • Rob Russo (R) — 10,141 votes
  • Anthony Musto (D) — 8,183 votes
  • Anthony Musto (WF) — 432 votes


  • T.R. Rowe (R) — 8,077 votes
  • Cheryl Bochet (D) — 4,829 votes


  • Tony Hwang (R): 2,863 votes
  • Tom F. Christiano (D): 2,845 votes

How Trumbull Voted in 2010 (60.58% Turnout)

(D=Democrat; R=Republican; G=Green; I=Independent; WF=Working Families; CL=Connecticut for Lieberman; SA=Socialist Action)


  • Richard Blumenthal (D) — 6,671 votes
  • Linda McMahon (R) — 7,522 votes
  • Richard Blumenthal (WF) — 299 votes
  • Warren Mosler (I) — 99 votes
  • John Mertens (CL) — 78 votes


  • Jim Himes (D) — 6,419 votes
  • Jim Himes (WF) — 376 votes
  • Dan Debicella (R) — 7,713 votes


  • David Pia (R) —8,059 votes
  • Anthony Musto (D) —6,068 votes
  • Anthony Musto (WF): — 374 votes


  • T.R. Rowe (R) — 7,337 votes


  • Tony Hwang (R) — 2,842 votes
  • Michael Murren (D) — 1,590 votes
Thomas Tesoro November 06, 2012 at 05:32 PM
In Trumbull there is a Voter Initiative underway that will give Citizens the opportunity to be heard on the voting configuration of our Town (7 Districts with 7 polling places or 4 districts with 4 polling places. Let's do it right this time. No Party politics, full disclosure and transparency, a lively debate and a decision by the people. SIGN THE INITIATIVE PETITION!!!


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something